In 2012 a restoration programme began on the remarkable tapestry maps of Warwickshire Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire and Worcestershire that were commissioned by Ralph Sheldon for his house at Weston  in the late 16th century.  The maps of Warwickshire (at Warwickshire Museum) and Gloucestershire (at the Bodleian Library, Oxford) both show the Rollright Stones in schematic form.  These are the earliest known depictions of the Stones and both also show a windmill nearby which appears in the earliest printed illustration of the King’s Men stone circle in the 1607 edition of Camden’s Britannia.  The windmill was removed within a few decades:  the adjacent field next to the Stones is labelled ‘Old Windmill Hill’ on a 17th century map of Little Rollright which shows it had been moved to a slightly higher location to the west.

To read the stories of these maps and their restoration, use the links below to open the relevant pdf files

A full account of the maps compiled by Hilary Turner can be found at